A Family Divided

I have made my decision. Dude and I will be making a trip to Iowa for Thanksgiving after all. We will be spending quality family time with my aunt and her fiance. We will also make a couple stops to see my niece, one of my cousins, and maybe even a few old friends. This is a decision that I waivered on for a week or so. I want so badly to be able to go home for the holidays. I miss my people! And I really want dude to see just where I came from.

I thought that it would hurt my parents if I went home and didn’t go to their house, but they know full well that this is a possibility. I got an email from my mom last week telling me that they will miss me over the holidays. I was hurt. And, while I am home, I plan on giving them a call and giving them the opportunity to see me because I want to see them. My aunt told me not to be surprised if they don’t wnat to see me. I won’t be. But, I will be hurt just like they will be knowing that I am going to be home but not with them.

I talked to my cousin and told him I was going to come see him while I was home. He was excited. He also told me that he was going to end up saying something at Thanksgiving. I’m not trying to cause a big issue with my family. I would love if we could all be together. But, since that isn’t going to happen I will enjoy the people that want to spend time with me. I miss my family, and I am looking forward to the trip.

We will be doing Thanksgiving on Thursday, engagement pictures on Friday, visiting my niece Saturday, making a couple stops at some of my favorite places while we are there, then Sunday we’ll be heading home. I hope that the weather cooperates and that we do enjoy our few days. I now have to find a dog sitter.

~ by tia0220 on November 19, 2009.

2 Responses to “A Family Divided”

  1. I’m sorry – did you say ENGAGEMENT pictures???

  2. Have a safe and wonderful trip! I just got home from Iowa last night! Spent a week with Grandma in Des Moines!!
    Always good fun.
    Take care and please be safe!!

Leave a Reply

 
