It’s Time

I haven’t sent that letter that I posted here to my family, but let me tell you, I am thinking pretty hard about doing it. The more I learn the more I am ready to send it. I need to stop holding my tongue in order to make everyone happy. They need to know how I really feel, like it or not.

I’ve learned in talking to my (less supportive about the situation) aunt that my parents are “glad to have someone around to help me, they just wish it was different.” By that she means, they wish he wasn’t black?! She avoided that statement. But, she was also quick to tell me that my mom was inpressed that he took me on vacation. “It’s something neither of your ex’s would have done, but she probably didn’t tell you that either did she?” Nope, in fact my mom never said a word to me about it.

My dude is dying to take a trip to Iowa, he wants to see what it’s all about. I’ve told him time and again, take away the professional sports teams and the lake here and that’s basically Iowa. I can’t wait to take him home and let him form his own opinions. I’ve begun to casually mention him in phone conversations to my parents. It’s the only thing I can do to get them “used” to the idea of him. He put forth a great amount of effort to try to talk to them when they were here, I just wish they’d give him a quarter of the chance he gave them. I guess it’s time to send the letter!

~ by tia0220 on September 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
