Letter

Dear Family,

Thank you for being concerned about my well being, I appreciate it. I was given anything and everything I wanted growing up. You could say I was a spoiled brat. I know that you, my parents and extended family worked so hard to make sure that I had what I wanted and was loved and supported. I know that watching me struggle with things is hard for you. Is it the ideal situation? No, but know that it is building my character and making me stronger.

Have I as an adult led the life that you hoped and dreamed for me? No, I haven’t. It’s not been what I had ever hoped and dreamed for either. Though the last few months, I have learned a lot about myself. I’ve learned that no matter the situation, I will get through it. The stepping stones of my life are somewhat shakey at the moment, I can’t lie and tell you that I don’t get stressed, I do. But, I take each step in stride and I know that each hard step I take is leading down the path to an easier way.

You can send me emails telling me that you are selfish and that you just want me home. You can remind me that I can swallow my pride and move home at the drop of a hat. You can even pretend I don’t exist because I am not making the choices that you would, but know that while I am not doing the things you’d like me to, I am doing for me. Not because I am afraid to swallow my pride, but because THIS is what I need to do.

I need this time to be on my own and determine what path I am going to take on. I can’t tell you right now where that path may lead, but I can tell you that whatever path I take, I will grab the bull by the horns and go head on with each challenge I face.

What I am asking of each of you is for support. Be my cheerleaders, and hold me up when times get tough. If I call after a bad day, the last thing I want to hear is that I need to move home. I would rather hear that you have faith in my decisions.

I am only 30, there are so many big steps of life ahead of me. I just hope that I would have a support system. It would be nice to be able to call my “people” and have a conversation with each of you that doesn’t seem strained. This is all I am asking of you. While I know that you all want me home, I just want you all to back me.

I love you

K

~ by tia0220 on September 16, 2009.

2 Responses to “Letter”

  1. I think you should send them this.

  2. Great letter!

Leave a Reply

 
