Small World

A couple weeks ago one of my FB friends (actually a favorite tattoo artist), posted a picture of his latest work and tagged it with a name that was really familiar to me. Then the person with the familiar name commented so I could see a thumbnail of their profile picture. No WAY! It couldn’t be. I clicked on the person and went to see if I could see anything without being their friend. Nope, so I sent a request.

The old friend accepted pronto and started chatting with me. It was SO weird because just a few months ago I was thinking about him and had tried to find him on FB with no luck. There are a bunch of people with his name, so I gave up. I’d always wondered what had happened to him. As we were chatting he said, I have to tell you, I was in a really bad motorcycle accident seven years ago, and my memory is a little slow. I sure couldn’t tell! He remembered things that we’d done that I couldn’t even remember. HE was my boyfriend in the summer of 98. He was one of the few boyfriends I’ve had that my parent’s liked. I was sick with God knows what and he came to my house with a HUGE stuffed dog, so big I’m not sure how he managed to get it into his CRX AND drive to my house.

He asked me how I’d been in the last 11 years, and I did that same with him. For the first few days, he’d remember more things and send me a text or an IM. He then told me that he regretted that we’d met when we were so young, and he’d always wondered what might have happened, etc. He’s married now with a new baby. We have developed into fast friends. Good friends too. Yesterday he saw on my FB that I was having a rough day. He sent me a text…..something about are you still in a crappy mood. Yeah, I responded. Soon after my phone rang, and while I walked the dog in the dark he talked to me on the phone. He brought me out of my crappy mood, and made sure that I “got home okay” from the dog and I’s walk.

It’s crazy who FB can put you back in contact with through mutual friends. He’s told me that when I get home, I need to bring my BF over and have a couple drinks with him and his wife. It’s pretty cool that we got back in contact. Now, my goal is to find some friends here!

~ by tia0220 on August 20, 2009.

2 Responses to “Small World”

  1. That is cool that you hooked up with an old friend on Facebook! I had a girl I went to high school send me an invite on facebook!
    Does he still live in IA? Take care

Leave a Reply

 
