It’s The Simplest Things

Let me first say that I feel like I am a teenage girl all over again. A couple weeks ago, dude and I took some blankets, pillows and a couple of books to the park. We laid on our blankets under an old oak tree and just enjoyed the day, our books and each other’s company. Something so simple that usually we as adults wouldn’t make time for. We watched as little kids raced past us from one tree to the next and as a bunch of friends grilled out and played catch with a football. It was the simplest thing, but it was at the same time AMAZING!

This past weekend we lounged in my living room on Sunday. We watched a movie, laughed hysterically at Jim Carey and then we sat and talked. Again, we technically did nothing, but it was that nothing that was amazing. Last night, as we sat talking, my dude looked at me. It was a deep look, as he gently touched my chin and looked me straight in the eyes, he said, “I love you.” This isn’t a new thing, but the way he said it was. Our thing with each other is to ask the person why, so I asked him. “You’re my baby,” he said. “Why else?” This is when he looked at me and motioned towards his heart. “You know when you get that feeling in your chest and you just KNOW? It’s there, and that’s why I love you.” This made me have butterflies. He’s such a big teddy bear and to hear that come from him made me want to melt.

We’ve both got baggage that we’re trying to “unload”, and we are both wanting to take our relationship slow. I love that he has his place and I have mine. It makes our time together just that much more special. I love that we “miss” each other. Some days since we both work in downtown, he’ll call me to come down to see him for a few minutes, or he’ll surprise me with a call telling me he’s taking me to lunch. It’s just crazy that it’s the simplest, smallest things that make you really think. He’s the most thoughtful person I know, he tells me all the time how beautiful I am, more than I think I’ve ever heard in my entire life. It’s these small things that bring me that same fluttery feeling.

~ by tia0220 on June 24, 2009.

One Response to “It’s The Simplest Things”

  1. Awww, so sweet! There was a line in “Night at the Museum” that was something like, “Life is about doing the things you love with the people you love.” It makes even little, everyday things that much more special. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
